Approaching the half century

10/1/14
It was a tiara kind of day. Thanks to the Disney Princess merchandising industry I recently found a nice large princess tiara with blue and white stones. I wore it all day – lol – to my knitting group, around the house, to the grocery store. My favorite reaction was a little boy about 9 who gaped unashamed at me, did a double take and then looked toward the check out where his parent must have been and stared some more. He even shook his head once, maybe he wasn’t seeing things right. That tickled me.

I, of course, wore my 5 caret “diamond” ring that I recently picked up after the fashion show a few weeks ago to compliment the crown.  Many gray ladies grinned and nodded, fewer others scowled at me.  I smiled at them al.

On Thursday of next week I will be 50.
The number doesn’t really bother me.  My son has dubbed me indefinitely 34 and that is the age I feel in my heart.

Looking back over half century to see all the things I have not done yet is moderately disturbing. I have attained a milestone. This is going to be a wonderful decade. I’ve raised my family, established myself, settled in my ways a bit, recognized my potential, learned to say yes and learned to say no.  I am proud of who I am. I have tackled demons, risked it all, saved someone else (several times actually, literally and figuratively). I have a deep appreciation for all that I have and in many ways am thankful for all I have not.

I am cleaning out papers this morning – an ongoing battle.  I happened across a letter from a dear friend from high school. We kept in touch by letter for several years and then the letters stopped. If you know where R. Scott Boots has gone to I would love to reconnect with him.  My last letter had this ink stamp on the front and is a big reason why I have treasured it for so long.

“In Germany they first came for the Communists and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Communist. Then they came for the Jews, and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Jew. Then they came for the trade unionists, and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a trade unionist. Then they came for the Catholics, and I didn’t speak up because I was Protestant. Then they came for me – and by that time no one was left to speak up.” -Pastor Martin Niemoller

After the end of the war and the toppling of the Nazi regime’ many believed this could never happen again. Yet, it is. Speak up.

Here’s to the next 1/2 Century and beyond.
All My Love

Comments are closed.

