Verizon NOT Customer Oriented

This will be an ongoing topic until I either change companies or get satisfaction.

I stopped in this afternoon to upgrade my [finally] completed 2 year contract to their pay as you go plan, still maintaining my sons full contract and staying with the company.  Both the store employee and assistant store manager were unwilling to negotiate an early change (3 days remaining – for all intents and purposes a fully completed contract).  the managers name was withheld.  The regional managers name was with held and the corporate office address was withheld.

What could they have done?

Offered to have the service switched on Tuesday, assisted me in purchasing a new phone, and a new blue tooth which I was planning on purchasing at the same time.

Offered to discount the phone by the amount of the $60 contract termination fee and assisting me in purchasing a new phone ($99), blue tooth wireless earpiece ($140) and “switching” the service on the day of termination.

Provide the number of someone who has the authority to make a decision regarding customer satisfaction.

Publish the regional managers number or at least provide their business card when in the store to registered customers.

My conclusion as shared below is that they would rather lose a long-term satisfied customer than teach their employees exceptional customer service skills and empower their managers and assistant managers in the subtleties of good customer service.  As I said below I pay VW for the service, they don’t pay me for the privilege of having their logo on my phone.

This is probably the 5th time I’ve been into that store and EVERY time I leave irritated.  There were 3 shining stars in the last 2 years.

The female clerk who sold my son his phone.

The male clerk at the Lindale mall kiosk who waited to use the restroom so he could assist me when I thought my phone number had been compromised.

The last male clerk when I was there just last week, that assisted me – who was an outstanding customer service representative and representative of the company.

Just enough to be hopeful that the corporate office gets the memo…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Verizon Chat today after visiting the store:
Please hold for a Verizon Wireless sales representative, we appreciate your patience. Your current estimated wait time is 0 min 2 secs.

Add a tablet to the Share Everything plan for only $10/mo – no contract commitment – data only plans starting at $30 monthly access! Ask me how.

Your RealTime session ID is RTxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.

You are now chatting with ‘xxxx x.’

xxxx x: Hi! My name is xxxx x. with the Verizon Wireless Sales Team. I am available to answer your questions and help you place an order. May I have your name, please?

xxxx x: I’m looking for the name of a store manager or regional manager for 151 Collins Road NE, Cedar Rapids Ia

xxxx x: Hi xxxx x!

xxxx x: I would be glad to assist you with online sales however we do not have the information on the store managers.

xxxx x: *or regional managers

xxxx x: ok. What is the corporate phone number or email address?

xxxx x: What I can do is give you the number to our customer service department who will be able to better assist you today.

xxxx x: You may reach them at 1-800-922-0204.

xxxx x: Nice. I work in customer service. VW fails in that arena on so many levels. Our presidents name and mailing address are public information.

xxxx x: What is the corporate address?

xxxx x.: You will be able to click on the contact us tab at the top of the page and the address will be on that page.

xxxx x: Awesome customer service – again.

xxxx x.: Thanks!

xxxx x.: I want to make sure you have the best experience possible today with our chat service. Did you have any additional questions for me today?

xxxx x: No. You were clearly unable to assist. You have not even asked what the problem is. Please send an email confirmation of the conversation.

xxxx x.: I want to make sure you have the best experience possible today with our chat service. Did you have any additional questions for me today?

xxxx x: You, as well as store employees have made no effort to satisfy my requests.

xxxx x: May I ask what is your issue today?

xxxx x: Hi, I’m just checking in, how is everything going?

xxxx x: I went in to the store to convert my phone to prepaid service, purchase a new phone and continue service with VW. I was informed that the $60 early contract termination fee is not negotiable and would be charged regardless. No offer to negotiate a switch, no information provided and only told to come back on Tuesday. I work 9am to 10pm in a call center…and for the recording I pay Verizon for service. You don’t pay me for the privilege of having your name on my phone.

xxxx x: So. My conclusion is that VW would prefer to receive the $60 contract termination fee instead of maintaining a long-term relationship with a customer who pays almost $200 for service per month.

xxxx x: I completely understand your concerns today and the policy is that the early termination fee would have to be paid in order to break a contract as stated in the 2 year agreement. I wish this could be changed for you however in order to switch to the prepaid services you would have to pay this fee first.

xxxx x: Nice. I’m sure I’m not the first person to be bent over the barrel on this. And it doesn’t matter that “everyone is doing it”. It’s poor relations. You as a corporation – certainly – can work around this issue.

xxxx x: Does my phone turn off at midnight on Tuesday when the contract expires?

xxxx x: This policy is standard. The phone will not be disconnected until you have contacted our customer service department to stop services.

xxxx xIt’s 3 days of a fully satisfied contract. As I said to the store employees “you are out of your minds”.

xxxx x: I want to make sure you have the best experience possible today with our chat service. Did you have any additional questions for me today?

xxxx x: That’s a cop-out. You have not provided the best possible experience today. Please escalate this to whomever has the authority to review the policies and let them know it is unreasonable and poor public relations.

xxxx x: The policy can not be changed here and if you would like to speak with a superior you would have to contact our customer service via phone at 1-800-922-0204 and they will be able to better assist you today.

Your chat transcript will be sent to xxxxxxxxxx at the end of your chat.

xxxx x: Hi, I’m just checking in, how is everything going?

[She is fricken CLUELESS – is everything going well?????]

xxxx x: Since I have not heard from you for several minutes I am going to have to end the chat session. If you need further assistance please open another chat session so that we may make sure you receive all of the assistance you need. It has been my pleasure to chat with you and hope you have a great day!

Thank you for chatting with us, visit our Online Workshops to learn more about your devices. Click “Close” to tell us how we did today via our survey.

You are not currently in a chat session. Thank you for your patience.
You are not currently in a chat session. Thank you for your patience.

Comments are closed.

