National Debt Crisis

Spoiler alert – political post

 

 

 

I read today that our national debt has doubled in the last 7 years. source Treasury Department

When I got home tonight I thought I would check it out. I can’t find the source of that tidbit but in scrolling and searching the site I found this “Financial Crisis in Charts“.

Before that I read this “??(don’t remember if it was DHS or another program), Medicare and Medicaid consume 40% of the nation’s budget.  I actually had to go back and read that twice from the original source.

We have a population of 313.9 million people in the US.

16% (41.9 million) are unemployed or marginally employed

The only way to get the country back in alignment is to make the tough choices and stop spending money we don’t have.

*Printing money isn’t going to fix the problems, you are only digging the hole deeper.

We have to stop spending.

I also learned today that I am a boomer (ie boomer cohort #2 to be specific) albeit on the tail end of the “boom”.  huh

What have we left for our children?

 

It’s late.  I’m tired.  I’m not sure where I was going with this post, just a bit in shock at the numbers.

Have a Blessed day my friends.

 

Comments are closed.

