C25K – I did it!

I only have a short time to write this morning. Just came back from week 1 cycle of running. Yes. Running. We have a very active fitness center, gym and class options at work and recently they offered a Couch to 5K class. 30 allowed, 60 applied and I was not one of the first 30. Two days before the first run I got an email that there had been a cancellation and did I want the spot. Completely confident and equally as terrified and doubtful I replied YES!

Thank God for the internet and people who have gone before me. Wednesday I hiked my butt up to the fitness center pre-run and did one of the standard treadmill runs then met the class in the lobby. I couldn’t join them because I had signed up for OT when I didn’t think I had made the class. I was the only one to raise my hand when the instructor said “has anyone NEVER run in their lives”. Daunting. Intimidating. Scarry.

I think I’m going to do a 5K in May with 35 runners in this class? The week has been full of self doubt and loathing. Self talk I’m in way over my head. I can’t do this. Run 2 miles by April 20? No way. My knees will hurt. It’s too hard. blah blah blah

I forged ahead despite myself.
This morning I downloaded the first 3 weeks of pod-casts from this C25K, dressed, let the horses house and dragged my doubting brain to the car, drove a short distance to the trails near me, got out, put on my shoes (dragging every step of the way), locked up the car, turned on the podcast and set out. got as far up the road as a golden retriever allowed, turned around and cross trained back and forth across a bridge with a pretty creek under it until it was over.

It wasn’t all doom and gloom though that’s how I was feeling before. I got familiar with the discomfort-today the outsides of my calves, changed the way I was stepping or the way my feet were landing to relieve the pressure, took much smaller steps, looked kinda goofy to cars driving by and followed the step by step instructions all the way through the 5 minute cool down.

Tomorrow I’m going to enjoy a walk with my roomie, Sunday is a day off and Monday starts week 2.
I did it.
My brain keeps telling me I can’t do it.
I did it.
I am doing it.
See you on the race course.

Have a Blessed day.
All My Love

Comments are closed.

