Optimistic denial

4-Hour Workweek, Chapter 3 Continued

Optimistic denial is a term used in the chapter about our determination to stay to the status quo.  Here are a few snippets of some of the points of the chapter that made me think. The question of the day is “Are you better off than you were one year ago, one month ago, or one week ago?”  I am still answering that question and that is what has motivated me to cut back the voluntary OT by 2.5 hours per week. The extra money hasn’t been so much that its worth the forfeiture of time that could be spent fixing my life and pursuing options to get me out of the box I’m in permanently.  I started down the path before I caved and went back to work, but hadn’t followed the formula.  I lost my determination.  I’ve found the rabbit hole (again) and this time I want to see how far it really goes.  I haven’t forfeited anything except money and I have everything to gain.

Most who avoid quitting their jobs entertain the thought that their course will improve with time or increases in income. This seems valid and is a tempting hallucination when a job is boring or uninspiring instead of pure hell. Pure hell forces action [sic]

You have comfort. You don’t have luxury. And don’t tell me that money plays a part. The luxury I advocate has nothing to do with money. It cannot be bought. It is the reward of those who have no fear of discomfort. -Jean Cocteau, French poet, novelist, boxing manager, and filmmaker, whose collaborations were the inspiration for the term “surrealism”

The most basic of foods and good friends proved to be the only real necessities.

I am an old man and have known a great many troubles, but most of them never happened. –Mark Twain

Comments are closed.

