Little Birds

Photos Feb 12 263

I have sat upon a trunk filled with diamonds and I have had my hands full of them, but…I have never seen jewels of earth to compare with the treasures the tides prodigally spill upon our beach: shells of pearl, fans of coral, angels’ wings, and living stars. No shopping for man-made merchandise is as rewarding to me as combing god’s bargain counter where collector’s items are flung at my feet by the waves, without a penny to pay. -Julia Lake Kellersberger, Rooted in Florida Soil (as quoted in The Nature of Florida’s Beaches, Written and Illustrated by Cathie Katz)

“When we’re faced with unexpected changes in living conditions, we can either adapt or perish. If we choose to adapt, we become stronger after the struggle.”

Many a false step was made by standing still. –Fortune Cookie

Named must your fear be before banish it you can. –Yoda, from Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back

He had realized something while arcing in slow circles toward the earth – risks weren’t that scary once you took them. (Nexus Surf)

The Power of Pessimism: Defining the Nightmare

Action may not always bring happiness, but there is no happiness without action. –Benjamin Disraeli, former British Prime Minister

Set aside a certain number of days, during which you shall be content with the scantiest and cheapest fare, with course and rough dress, saying to yourself the while: “Is this the condition that I feared?” -SENECA

There’s no difference between a pessimist who says, “Oh, it’s hopeless, so don’t bother doing anything.” And an optimist who says, “Don’t bother doing anything, it’s going to turn out fine anyway.” Either way, nothing happens. –Yvon Chouinard, founder of Patagonia

The above quotes are attributed to The 4-Hour Work Week, Chapter 2

And that my friends is all I had time for today. I am taking the book home with me over the weekend. Between playing with the horses, enjoying my sons company and maybe having lunch with a friend I might be able to read a little more.

Saturday

I may or may not be having a monthly lunch with a friend.  She hasn’t responded to my text.  I will go and if she doesn’t show up I’m going to her house.  The ponies are out playing.  Autumn left her breakfast and was looking around the house for something – I think she was looking for me which makes me really happy.  She was sniffing at my foot prints in the snow.

I’m still cold but I must admit that I am enjoying the snow.  We have had about 8-10 inches of it and now that the sun is out again its easy to be happy about it. I’m struggling with not wanting to leave the house today.  The kids may come over this afternoon and I invited them to stay the night but they aren’t responding either.  For them I know why on my sons smart phone every time he turns it on it activates the web access which costs him browsing time and he was at 90% usage 5 days ago.  He is making a heroic effort to stay in the limitations of his 2 GB.  Fortunately, today is the final day of the month and he should have a full amount again.

I must go although my fingers are nimble on the key pad today.  I have work to do getting my office and mail back in order after my absence.

All My Love

Comments are closed.

