History 3-15-89

To Chris

3/15/1989

I am lying in bed listening to a tape of Doug Overfield (co-worker). My eyes are closed and I’m thinking of you. The candlelight is flickering across your picture and when I open my eyes you are there. Smiling at me. With that air of self-confidence you possess. Slowly a single tear forms in the corner of my eye. I close my eyes and relax and when I open them you are still there. You have my heart in your keeping. If you betray me, you betray yourself. Because you first gave me your heart and I can give no less than I’ve received. Hold me gently in your keeping and I will do the same. By trusting my intuition I have found you. Though the road may have cobbles we will be there together over through the rough spots.

 

It is with words as with sunbeams. The more they are condensed, the deeper they burn.

–Robert Southey (1774-1843) English Writer

The Good poet sticks to his real loves, those within the realm of possibility. He never tries to hold hands with God or the human race.

–Karl Shapiro, b. 1913 American Writer

Comments are closed.

