Bit by a Pit Mix

I have worked with hundreds and hundreds of dogs over the years of all breeds, shapes and sizes. I have always maintained an opinion that Pit Bulls have gotten a bad rap because of humans and I still maintained that…until Thursday.

I still believe Pittys are a human problem due to poor decisions made in breeding and the fighting ring issues that they have been breed for. I’ve met some nice pits but have never shared a home with one and never truly understood why they were labeled “more” dangerous than any other aggressive dog. I know now.

First. Thanking God for a few details that effected the outcome, I’m ok. I have had a few night mares the last couple of nights, recurring from an attack when I was 5 when a dog grabbed the top of my head and nearly removed my left eye.

I was at a friends house who was watching her daughters pit (f) and pit/lab (m) dogs (I won’t mention names because they are close friends). Both animals are neutered/fixed. There had been a few incidences in the past with this male, but nothing serious enough to take immediate action. The dog doesn’t like men and has nipped a few times. They are aware of this and take actions to keep him and other safe; caution enough to handle with care. They got him at 5 weeks; imo way too young; you should not take pups from a litter until at least 8 and preferably 10 weeks old. They have raised him in a loving home and done a lot of obedience with him to address his strong drive. They are really good dog owners.

We went out on the patio and let the 4 dogs out to play (2 great!! labs in the group), throwing the ball for them and letting them get some energy out from being kenneled during the day. The dog in question cruised by my legs a few times, stopped to sniff, went on about his business. He wasn’t overly interested in me and was displaying absolutely NO aggression around the humans; he was bristling out in the yard at the neighbors dog who was barking outside.

So far, so good. My friend went in the house and got all the food dishes and all 4 dogs ate-no problems. I got up and we (all 6 of us) were standing next to the steps by the sliding glass door to the house. I felt the male nip the finger tips of my right hand; she corrected him and he seemed to have taken the clue. He went around the table and I thought he had gone on out in the yard, when he came back at me – biting my abdomen. As I hollered ”he just bit me” and she lunged to catch him, he came around behind me and took a disabling bite on the back of my right heel just below the Achilles tendon. THANK GOD I had tennis shoes on that night. As I stepped away from him, he pulled back and down I crashed. I was thinking “I am so screwed” as I fell knowing that on the ground, I was nearly defenseless. In the flash it took for her to get him off my foot I spied the open sliding glass door (THANK GOD she left it open when she came out) and I jumped for it, sliding it closed behind me as he lunged for me, hitting the glass.

I am not too embarrassed to say I peed my pants. Miraculously I have NO bites on my skin and other than the nightmares that will eventually subside, no lasting damage. There is a 2″ cut in the top of my shoe and puncture holes in the rubber on the opposite side of the heel. It could have been SO SO much worse and THANK GOD it was me and not a child, since I had the wherewithal to jump for the door .

He attacked with no warning and with absolutely no provocation. Seconds before he nipped my fingers he had stood next to my leg leaning against me and I had been petting him.

He bit so hard he either pulled tooth out or dislodged one because he had blood around his mouth, which scared my friend. THANK GOD she was outside at the time.

My new opinion of why pittys are more dangerous than other breeds is the complete and single-minded prey drive/focus that has been breed into them over centuries to make them exceptional fighting dogs; paired with the massive strength of the upper body and large (wide) jaws build for gripping and crushing.

The female is a doll. She is sweet, friendly and affectionate and I would happily be around her any time with absolute confidence for my safety. She is a credit to her breed. This thread is not about condemning pits; it’s about the problems that aggressive dogs bring to society.

Mostly, I just wanted some expression because I am still shook up about it a bit and will unfortunately give all pits a wide berth in the future because there was absolutely no warning from this one and he appeared to be accepting of me for almost an hour prior to the attack. That’s the other reason this particular dog is so dangerous.

My friends daughter (and beau) has a very difficult decision to make. I hope she decides to euthanize. I have never seen a dog at this extreme improve his character. I believe the mix of pit/lab makes him more unstable and unpredictable-and that is what makes him so dangerous. The only thing I am certain of is he will get worse and I have no doubt he would have done his best to kill me if I hadn’t gotten away.

I do feel horribly bad for them, he is their first dog.

Comments are closed.

